Great Mystery Book For Kids

Standard

Arthur’s Mystery Envelope” by Marc Brown

Grade level : 3

arthur's mystery envelope

One of my students and I finished this book today and loved it! She remained engaged throughout the entire book, made inferences and answered comprehension questions correctly.

Synopsis:

Arthur receives a sealed envelope from his principal and is asked to deliver it to his mom. With a little help from his friends, Arthur imagines the worst regarding its contents. He’s so worried he can’t eat or sleep. All he can think about is the envelope marked CONFIDENTIAL. Will he give the envelope to his mother and await impending doom or will he find a way to safely dispose of it?

This book is written in chapter book format for kids who are ready to read on their own. Its mysterious motif also makes for a great read-aloud, over the course of several days, to build suspense and allow students to draw conclusions.

We gave it 4 stars!

7 responses »

      • I think the episode revolved around a kid at Author’s school finding out he’s allergic to milk or something like that. My memory isn’t as great as it used to be due to health issues, but that episode really stuck out in my mind. How about you?

      • I don’t remember that one but it sounds good. I need to invest in the box set of episodes if they are available. Wouldn’t that be cool! I have a lot of favorites but the one I remember most is “Arthur’s Eyes”. Arthur gets into a lot of trouble when decides not to wear his glasses because his classmates tease him about them. He realizes, in the end, that he really needs his glasses.

  1. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.

    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this information
    for my mission.

Leave a Reply

