My Favorite Childhood Books

Standard

This will definitely be running a list because I’m almost certain I have forgotten some. Here’s a list of some of my favorite books I read as a child.

  1. A Snowy Day   by Ezra Jack Keats   Age 7                                                                                                                                              As stated in another post, I enjoyed this book mostly because it was the first book I encountered in which the characters were people of color. I think it is really important that children see themselves and their culture represented in story books. The story becomes more relevant and reliable.
  2. The Babysitter’s Club   by Ann Martin   Age 9                                                                                                                                         This was my first completed series. I remember pulling these books out to read, after having completed an assignment in class, and comparing page numbers with my friends. These books were so engaging and fun. I also enjoyed the movie adaptations.
  3. The Secret Garden   by Frances Hodgson Burnett   Age 10                                                                                                                       One day my mother grounded me, I had to stay in my room for the latter part of the day. It was a Saturday, I had gotten a new library book on Friday. I read the entire book that day and enjoyed every minute– best punishment ever!
  4. Goosebumps   (series) by R.L. Stein   Age 10 and up                                                                                                                             These books had just the right amount of creepy I needed. I could read them just before bed and would not experience nightmares. The stories were very cool and would leave me with “goosebumps”.
  5. Sweet Valley High   (series) by Francine Pascal  Age 9                                                                                                                                  This series was just as satisfying and popular among my friends and me as The Babysitter’s Club series. I remember being so disappointed after I realized that I had read the last installment. This series had love, friendship and high school drama — everything.                                                                                                                  What were some of your (childhood) favorite books? Have you read any other the titles on my list, if so what did you think?
4 responses »

  1. Clearly, you’re a true book lover when childhood memories are traced back to ‘all the awesome books I read as a kid!” I didn’t enjoy reading as much as you did, but one book I paticulary enjoyed was Sideways Stories of Wayside School. It was the best book I read as a kid. It was full of whimsical adventure. I have not read any of the books on your list.

    • Ah, Sideways Stories of Wayside School, also a very good book! I agree the stories in that book were very whimsical and fun. There are just so many great kids’ books out there. Do you have a special story to go along with your favorite book to explain why you liked it so much?

  2. I must admit I was not a book worm as a child; however,
    I do enjoy reading a good book as an adult. My son on the other
    hand is the total opposite. He has lately found a great interest in
    reading Diary of a Wimpy Kid books. Do you have any suggestions
    of books for boys age 8?

    • “The Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series are great books. If he likes fun and silly books, he might like “Wayside School is Falling Down” by Louis Sachar. Actually I suggest you check out this author for more great books. He has written many great ones like “Holes”,”There’s a Boy in the Girls Lockeroom”, “Dogs Don’t Tell Jokes” and many more. Also check out my blog post titled, “Top 10 Greatest Books for Kids” for more ideas and be sure to visit Scholastic’s website for many more recommendations. I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

