How to Choose What to Read Next

Standard

We can all agree on one thing; there are just so many great books out there and not enough time to read them. Here are a few ways I determine what I will read next.

  • Mood: I often allow my emotions to determine what book I will read next. After a heavy literary read I might reach for a light and fluffy Contemporary Fiction novel. If I’ve had a really light week, I might reach for a book that will give me a good cry (Between Shades of Grey not to be confused with the saucy erotica novel Fifty Shades of Grey).

 

  • TBR (To Be Read) List: I have a habit of buying lots of books when I can catch a sale, some I read right away while others get more shelf time. Sometimes I join a challenge on Goodreads (a website for book junkies) to help lessen my number of TBR books. For example, the challenge may require me to read a book with a yellow cover, read a book that’s been on my shelf the longest and read a book with the least number of pages. 

 

  • Book club commitments: I’m a member of a book club that meets once a month to discuss a book. I usually read the book designated for the month immediately so I can focus on other books. 

 

How do you choose what you will read next?

6 responses »

      • Haha!
        I normally buy 10 books or more each month,so there are always more and more books adding up on my shelf that I haven’t yet read.

        Thus if I gave priority to the ones that look the most exciting,some books would inevitably feel like outcasts.Some of them would stay on my shelf,unread,for a very very long time.

        🙂

    • I don’t consider myself a book hoarder(yet) because I welcome borrowing and I don’t mind giving books away. Sometimes I lend out read books to friends and family. We swap books at my book club. I used to donate most of my read books to the library but recently I’ve heard of a store, with a massive selection of books, that will allow you to trade your used books for store credit or money. I’m now storing my books in a box for my field trip there to get more books!

Leave a Reply

