Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Image

rebecca

I usually do not gravitate toward classics when I am searching for a leisure read but sometimes I get a hankering for a good old classic reminiscent of my favorite “Great Expectations” by Charles Dickens.

This book is highly praised and raved as a pioneer for gothic literature in the book community, so I gave it a shot. Also the fact that it is considered a modern classic persuaded me to assume that it would not entail a ton of flowery language and excessive description. I was right. It contains just enough detail to assist in imagery but those who may not be accustomed to reading classics might have an opposing opinion.

Let’s cut to the chase. I really enjoyed this book. It encompassed everything I enjoy in a classic; complex themes and characters, mystery and intrigue. When I finished it, I sat for a while and pondered my feelings. I thought about how much I shared with each character. I also examined my feelings for the villains and discovered that I didn’t hate them but pitied them for I saw their suffering.

The main protagonist constantly rehearses self-sabotaging mantras that she’s too young, inexperienced, unattractive, incapable, and overall boring. Throughout the novel, she undergoes a drastic transformation. Her journey lends greatly to the story.

This book made me contemplate the aging process and the importance of living in the present moment while appreciating what you have and who you are.

I enjoyed the mystery element most. There’s definitely a lot of “woo woo” stuff going on that had me guessing and anxious to find out what was going on.

4 stars!

I would recommend this book to those who:

  • enjoy books with Gothic themes
  • appreciate character development
  • enjoy mystery novels
  • enjoy classics

Other books by this author:

Jamaica Inn, Frenchman’s Creek, Hungry Hill, My Cousin Rachel (1951)

The Birds (1963)

Don’t Look Now (1973)

Leave a Reply

